Mushroom Coffee Research: What the Studies Tested and What the Label Says

One page for every mushroom coffee question: the label facts, the ingredient research and its limits, and where to buy.

Pilly Labs sells the products shown on this page. Education here explains evidence and its limits. Editorial policy

Premium Mushroom Coffee (Medium Roast)

$47.99

Mushroom coffee is regular coffee with mushroom powder added, so it contains caffeine plus whatever mushroom the label names. Pilly Labs sells two, both Arabica coffee with Lion's Mane and Chaga: Premium Mushroom Coffee (instant, dissolved in hot water) and Vitality Mushroom Coffee (ground, brewed like regular coffee). The practical choice is preparation: instant needs no equipment, ground needs a brewer. Vitality lists 500 mg each of Lion's Mane and Chaga powder per 10 g serving; Premium lists about 300 mg each per 1 teaspoon/2 g serving. Neither states a caffeine amount, so research on Lion's Mane and Chaga below is context only.

Label facts are as published on each Pilly Labs product page on 2026-10-08. The package you receive is the final authority.

What's in each product

Product Serving Ingredients and amounts as disclosed Form Caffeine
Premium Mushroom Coffee 1 teaspoon (about 2 g) in 8 to 10 oz hot water; 27 servings Roasted Arabica coffee 70%; organic Lion's Mane powder 15% (about 300 mg per 1 teaspoon/2 g serving); organic Chaga powder 15% (about 300 mg per serving). The caffeine amount and mushroom parts are not stated. Instant, freeze-dried powder; mushroom parts not disclosed in the current public product text Contains caffeine; amount not disclosed in the current public product text
Vitality Mushroom Coffee 1 tablespoon (10 g) per 8 to 10 oz water; 34 servings Roasted Arabica Coffee 90%; Organic Lion's Mane Powder 5% (500 mg per 10 g serving); Organic Chaga Mushroom Powder 5% (500 mg per 10 g serving). The caffeine amount is not stated. Ground coffee, brewed (drip, pour-over or French press); mushroom parts not disclosed in the current public product text Contains caffeine; amount not disclosed in the current public product text

Premium lists about 300 mg each of Lion's Mane and Chaga powder per 1 teaspoon/2 g serving; Vitality lists 500 mg each per 10 g serving. These dry-powder amounts do not show how much ends up in the brewed cup or predict a health outcome.

What the research says about these ingredients

Lion's Mane

Evidence type: a small human trial. In 18 healthy adults aged 18 to 35, a single 3 g dose of Lion's Mane fruiting-body 10:1 extract did not significantly change overall cognitive performance or mood after 90 minutes; one task, the pegboard test, improved (PMID 40276537).

What this does not show: the study used a concentrated extract at 3 g, whereas Vitality lists 500 mg of powder per mushroom per 10 g serving and Premium lists about 300 mg per mushroom per 2 g serving. One acute dose in young adults does not show a daily focus outcome from coffee.

Chaga

Evidence type: laboratory and case-report literature. A laboratory study compared an aqueous Chaga extract's effects on cultured lung-derived cell lines (PMID 29484963). A 2014 case report described kidney injury from oxalate in one person who ate 4 to 5 teaspoons of Chaga powder a day for six months (PMID 23149251).

What this does not show: cell-line work is not evidence about people, a single case report cannot establish how common a risk is, and neither used a coffee product. We have not located human trials to cite for Chaga, so no benefit is claimed.

Caffeine

Evidence type: FDA consumer guidance. For most adults the FDA has cited 400 mg of caffeine a day, about two to three 12-ounce cups of coffee, as an amount not generally associated with negative effects, while sensitivity varies widely and some medications raise sensitivity. People who are pregnant, trying to become pregnant or breastfeeding are advised to talk with a health care provider about limiting caffeine (FDA).

What this does not show: neither coffee has a disclosed caffeine amount, so the guidance cannot be turned into a number for these products. Mushroom coffee is not shown to be crash-free or jitter-free.

How to choose between the coffees

  • You want no brewing equipment: Premium Mushroom Coffee. One teaspoon in hot water, with milk or cream if you like. Its label shows approximately 300 mg each of Lion's Mane and Chaga powder per serving; the caffeine amount is not stated on the label.
  • You brew coffee the traditional way and want listed proportions: Vitality Mushroom Coffee: 90% roasted Arabica coffee, 5% Lion's Mane powder, and 5% Chaga powder, with 500 mg of each mushroom per 10 g serving. The caffeine amount is not stated.
  • You want a lower-caffeine or caffeine-free routine: both contain caffeine, so look at drops, gummies or capsules, and verify each label.
  • You want a stated mushroom amount per serving: Vitality lists 500 mg each of Lion's Mane and Chaga per 10 g serving; Premium lists about 300 mg each per 1 teaspoon/2 g serving; the Chaga capsule and the drops do.

Safety and who should check with a clinician

  • Both coffees contain caffeine. Avoid if you are sensitive to caffeine, and ask a clinician about caffeine if you are pregnant, nursing, or have a heart condition or sleep problems.
  • Children and anyone pregnant or nursing should get professional guidance before use.
  • Chaga may interact with anticoagulant or blood-thinning medication, and Pilly Labs advises checking with a provider if you take medication for blood sugar management.
  • Chaga contains oxalates; people with a history of kidney stones or oxalate-related conditions should ask a clinician first.
  • Do not use with a known mushroom allergy. Keep out of reach of children.

Frequently asked questions

Does mushroom coffee have as much caffeine as regular coffee?

The caffeine amount is not disclosed for either Pilly coffee. Both are Arabica coffee and contain caffeine, but do not assume a figure.

Instant vs ground mushroom coffee: which is better?

Neither is better in general. Instant (Premium) is 1 teaspoon in hot water with 27 servings; ground (Vitality) is brewed, 1 tablespoon per serving with 34 servings. The choice is convenience versus brewing method.

Can I add milk or sweetener?

Premium's page says it can be taken black or with milk, oat milk or cream. Vitality is brewed like regular coffee, and you adjust strength to taste.

How much Lion's Mane is in a cup?

Vitality lists 500 mg of Lion's Mane powder per 10 g dry serving. Premium lists about 300 mg per 1 teaspoon/2 g serving. Dry powder is not the same as what is extracted into the cup.

Is mushroom coffee safe for everyone?

No supplement is right for everyone. Caffeine sensitivity, pregnancy, medications and kidney history all matter, so check with a clinician when in doubt.

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

The research in figures

Figure 1 What is in a serving

How much mushroom is in a cup?

Each bar is one dry serving, drawn at the same length so the shares can be read. The bars are not to weight: Vitality's serving is 10 g, Premium's about 2 g.

  • Listed separately
  • Approximate
  • Not confirmed

Vitality Mushroom Coffee 1 tablespoon (10 g) dry

  • Listed separately: Roasted Arabica coffee, 90% (9,000 mg)
  • Listed separately: Organic Lion's Mane powder, 5% (500 mg)
  • Listed separately: Organic Chaga powder, 5% (500 mg)

Premium Mushroom Coffee 1 teaspoon (about 2 g) dry

  • Approximate: Roasted Arabica instant coffee, about 1,400 mg (70%)
  • Approximate: Organic Lion's Mane powder, about 300 mg (15%)
  • Approximate: Organic Chaga powder, about 300 mg (15%)

Premium's amounts are worked out from the label's 70/15/15 shares of a 2 g serving, so they are approximate.

  1. Dry servingVitality 10 g; Premium about 2 g, coffee and mushroom powder together
  2. Brewed cupNot confirmed: Mushroom amount that reaches the cup: not measured
Caffeine per serving
Not confirmed: Not stated in milligrams on either label.
FDA reference
400 mg a day for most adults, about two to three 12-oz cups of coffee; sensitivity varies. It cannot be turned into a serving count here.

In shortVitality's label lists 500 mg each of Lion's Mane and Chaga powder in a 10 g serving; Premium's lists about 300 mg of each in about 2 g. Neither label states caffeine in milligrams, or how much mushroom reaches the brewed cup.

Sources Supplement Facts labels and product pages, checked 2026-10-08: Vitality Mushroom Coffee, Premium Mushroom Coffee. Research: FDA caffeine guidance. The package you receive is the final authority.

Figure 2 Evidence map

How close is the research to a mug of mushroom coffee?

The study (top) is set against the current label (bottom), stage by stage. A break in the line marks where they part ways.

  • What the study used
  • What the current label says
  • Matches
  • Differs
  • Not confirmed

Lion's Mane

Small human trial

18 adults aged 18 to 35; one dose, measured after 90 minutes · PMID 40276537

Label compared: Vitality and Premium Mushroom Coffee

  1. Species and partStudy: Lion's Mane fruiting bodyNot confirmedLabel: Lion's Mane; part not disclosed
  2. FormStudy: Concentrated 10:1 extractDiffersLabel: Organic powder mixed with coffee
  3. AmountStudy: 3 g, single doseDiffersLabel: 500 mg per 10 g serving (Vitality); about 300 mg per 2 g serving (Premium)
Study: 3 g onceLabels: about 300 and 500 mg10 mg100 mg1 g10 g

What this does not show. The study used a concentrated extract, not powder in coffee, and one acute dose in young adults does not show a daily outcome from coffee.

Chaga

Laboratory study and one case report

Cultured lung-derived cell lines; one person over six months · PMID 29484963, PMID 23149251

Label compared: Vitality and Premium Mushroom Coffee

  1. Species and partStudy: ChagaMatchesLabel: Organic Chaga powder; part not disclosed
  2. FormStudy: Aqueous extract on cells; powder in the case reportDiffersLabel: Powder mixed with coffee
  3. AmountStudy: 4 to 5 teaspoons of powder a day (case report)DiffersLabel: 500 mg per serving (Vitality); about 300 mg (Premium)

What this does not show. Cell-line work is not evidence about people, a single case report cannot establish how common a risk is, and neither used a coffee product. No human Chaga trial is cited, so no benefit is claimed.

Amount scales are logarithmic: each step is ten times the one before. Study amounts are per day or per dose as tested; label amounts are per labeled serving.

In shortThe Lion's Mane study used a concentrated extract at 3 g; the coffees list 300 to 500 mg of powder. The Chaga sources are cell work and one case report. None used a coffee product.

Sources Supplement Facts labels and product pages, checked 2026-10-08: Vitality Mushroom Coffee. Research: PMID 40276537, PMID 29484963, PMID 23149251. The package you receive is the final authority.

Figure 3 Preparation lanes

Instant or ground: what each one asks of your morning

The practical difference between the two coffees is preparation. Each lane follows the directions on its product page.

Instant

Premium Mushroom Coffee

Equipment
None
Servings
27
  1. Measure 1 teaspoon (about 2 g) of freeze-dried powder.
  2. Dissolve in 8 to 10 oz of hot water.
  3. Drink black, or with milk, oat milk or cream.

Ground

Vitality Mushroom Coffee

Equipment
Drip, pour-over or French press
Servings
34
  1. Measure 1 tablespoon (10 g) of ground coffee per 8 to 10 oz of water.
  2. Brew as you would regular coffee.
  3. Adjust strength to taste.

Not confirmed: Both contain caffeine. Neither label states the caffeine amount in milligrams.

In shortInstant needs a teaspoon and hot water; ground needs a tablespoon and a brewer. Neither is better in general.

Sources Supplement Facts labels and product pages, checked 2026-10-08: Premium Mushroom Coffee, Vitality Mushroom Coffee. The package you receive is the final authority.

Also in this category

Common questions

How do I compare mushroom coffees?
Compare the caffeine per serving, the mushroom species and the amount of each per serving, instant versus ground preparation, and the serving size. A mushroom amount that is not stated on the label cannot be compared.
Does mushroom coffee contain caffeine?
Coffee does. Check the label for the caffeine amount per serving and plan for any caffeine sensitivity.
Who should check with a clinician first?
Anyone who is pregnant or nursing, takes medication, is sensitive to caffeine, has a medical condition, or has a mushroom allergy should talk with a clinician before use.

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Talk with a clinician before use if you are pregnant or nursing, take medication, or have a medical condition.