How to Read a Supplement Label | Pilly Labs

How to Read a Pilly Labs Supplement Label

Why Label Reading Matters

Supplement labels tell you what is in a product and how much. Not every supplement discloses this information the same way. Understanding the difference between individual disclosure, named blends, and proprietary blends helps you make informed comparisons.

Anatomy of a Supplement Facts Panel

For Pilly Labs products sold as dietary supplements, the current package may include a Supplement Facts panel. A typical panel lists:

  • Serving Size — how much counts as one serving
  • Servings Per Container — how many servings are in the package
  • Active Ingredients — what the product contains, with amounts
  • % Daily Value — how the amount compares to recommended daily intake (when established)
  • Other Ingredients — non-active ingredients such as flavorings, binders, or preservatives

When a daily value has not been established for an ingredient, the label shows an asterisk (*).

Three Disclosure Levels

Individual Disclosure

Each ingredient’s amount is listed separately. You can see exactly how many milligrams of each ingredient are in one serving.

Pilly Labs products with individual disclosure: - Chaga Mushroom Complex — 1,000 mg Chaga Mycelium (owner-verified physical label) - Mushroom Energy & Cognition Drops — 5 individually listed ingredients - Cordyceps Energy Gummies — 5 individually listed ingredients

Physical-Label Verification Pending

The current source records name ingredients for these products, but exact amounts or serving details are not yet verified from a physical label:

  • Adaptogen Vitality Gummies — Lion’s Mane, Reishi, and Cordyceps are named; exact amounts and serving details remain pending
  • Reishi Relax Gummies — Reishi, Valerian Root, and Passionflower are named; exact amounts and serving details remain pending

Named or Proprietary Blend

The total blend weight is listed, and every ingredient in the blend is named — but the amount of each individual ingredient is not disclosed. You know what is in it, but not how much of each.

Pilly Labs products with blends: - Mushroom Gummies — 250 mg Mushroom Extract Blend listing 10 species; individual species amounts not disclosed - Adaptogen Immunity Drops — 150 mg Proprietary Mushroom Immune Complex; individual species amounts not disclosed - Reishi Calm Drops — 150 mg Reishi (disclosed) + 50 mg Proprietary Complex (individual species amounts not disclosed)

Categories Only

Ingredient categories are listed without specific amounts. This applies to products where amounts have not yet been owner-verified from the physical label.

Pilly Labs products with category-only disclosure: - Premium Mushroom Coffee — contains Arabica, Lion’s Mane, and Chaga; specific amounts pending verification - Vitality Mushroom Coffee — approximate amounts are available from the official product listing but are not verified from a physical label

How to Compare Doses to Published Research

Published research on mushroom ingredients typically uses specific extract forms, standardization levels, and doses that may differ from the amounts in a finished supplement. When comparing:

  1. Check the dose. Research often uses concentrated extracts at doses that differ from the product serving.
  2. Check the form. A 10:1 extract is different from raw powder. Mycelium-based extracts differ from fruiting body extracts.
  3. Check the population. Study participants may differ from supplement buyers in age, health status, or other factors.
  4. Remember the finished product. Research on an isolated ingredient does not predict outcomes from a multi-ingredient product.

For more detail on how Pilly Labs cites research, see research standards.

Other Ingredients

Other ingredients are the non-active components of a product: binders, flavors, sweeteners, preservatives, and capsule materials. They are listed separately from active ingredients on the Supplement Facts panel. Examples from Pilly Labs products include Organic Cane Sugar, Tapioca Syrup, Citrus Pectin, Glycerin, and Natural Flavoring.

FDA Disclaimer Context

Dietary-supplement pages use the standard statement that product claims have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and that the product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent disease. Read that statement as a boundary: it is not proof that a product has been clinically tested or that a claimed result is guaranteed.

About This Page

Pilly Labs is owned by the publisher of this page. This guide provides educational context to help you read supplement labels accurately. See all Pilly Labs products to compare options.